Five senses Tuesday (10-17th August)

Things have settled down here now.  The house is clean and clear of extra family members, L has arrived safe and sound in Germany (leaving me in possession of a plethora of towels, bedding and toiletries) and I can now sit down and actually do my uni work (or you know, write blogs instead). My stomach pain has finally gone away and I woke up this morning smiling (which hasn’t happened for several weeks). So, with the sun shining in and a rogue potato growing in my lawn, I can now take you on a sensory roadmap of the week.

Feeling:

A big fat mixture of things actually.  Relieved that life can now go back to normal and sad that L is gone.  Although it was stressful, it was nice having her here for the last week and I was really sad to see her go.  We even managed to fit in some girliness involving face masks, manicures and hair dying to the cheerful intonations of “Apocalypse Now” (too much girliness wasn’t going to fly with L, so a good dose of war and psychosis provided the antidote).

While we’re talking about feeling, I might as well cover the sensory perceptions of my finger tips. I have begun knitting my first ever large garment. Woohoo!  Up until now I have always been a little scared at the thought of knitting jumpers, and to be honest I had difficulty finding any that wouldn’t make me look like an enormous fluffy bear.  However, mum came to the rescue back when I was in Tasmania by buying me a pattern book and the wool to get me started. I finally started it while L was here (perhaps I felt safer beginning in the presence of my knitting guru) and have now completed the waist band for the back and am about to start on the lace work.  It’s all very exciting for me!  Here’s the book I’m using, although the picture on the front is not the pattern I am knitting.  You will just have to wait for some photos!

Tasting:

My own weight in chocolate.  I think perhaps L and I lived off it for a few days there, but I haven’t had any since she’s been gone, so chocolate rehab has been successful thus far.

However, right now I have a burrito sitting in front of me, thanks to L freezing the rest of the vego burrito mix we made the other night. I forgot to eat breakfast this morning because I started cleaning up instead and then found myself starving hungry at 11am, so burrito brunch it is. Although I do love chicken burritos the best, I have to say that L’s vego ones are pretty darn tasty.  I’ll even forgive her for putting broccoli in them.

Seeing:

Too many journal articles I need to read; My essay plan screaming at me to actually start writing the assignment that is due tomorrow that I haven’t managed to start yet due to aforementioned week-long stresses and distractions; developmental theory diagrams- like this

and L’s face more than usual, obviously.

ineffective pouting

Smelling:

The beautiful yellow carnations that my parents bought me as a consolation prize for hitting the family fights jackpot.  There’s just something about yellow flowers I love, I just can’t help but smile when I see them.  It’s just a pity I get such bad hay fever from them, but I am resolutely keeping them in the house because no one ever buys me flowers, so allergies can take a hike.

Hearing:

The acoustic stylings of R, a girl in my class at uni. Last night we all had to do our group presentations, and if I had managed to actually forget how much I hate standing up and talking in front of people, I was quickly reminded of my presentation ineptitude and lack of creativity by the fact that one girl put hers to song. Don’t get me wrong, she did an amazing job and I genuinely enjoyed the presentation, but seriously- who actually manages to make a folk song out of medieval to contemporary philosophies and theories of child development, detailing their differences succinctly and tunefully.  WHO DOES THAT!?  And don’t you know how cruel it is to go first, making everyone else follow behind with Powerpoint slide shows. Props to you R for an astounding demonstration of theoretical and musical understanding, but please don’t do that to me again.

