The poets have been mysteriously silent on the subject of cheese. ~G.K. Chesterton

I can’t take credit for these scones.  P actually made them, and while scones aren’t usually something I enjoy all that much, I have to bow down to P’s scone making abilities- because they really were incredibly yum!

Sliced fresh lemon and ginger have been gracing my teapot a lot lately in a bid to fight this darn cold I can’t seem to shake.  I’m not sure if it helps as much as the fresh carrot juice I mostly can’t be bothered making, but I think the warmth of the ginger certainly makes me feel more human.

I made this today, along with bread and chorizo stew.  It’s healthy and tasty and I can’t really get enough of it.  I also made pita bread spicy chips to eat it with.  I think I originally got the recipe from one of those free supermarket magazines, but I’ve changed parts here and there to my own liking, so I think I can feel comfortable giving out the recipe without getting a knock from some suited men at my door.

Cannelini Bean Dip

1 can cannelini beans drained and rinsed

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 clove of garlic (although I usually put in 2 because I like it really bitey and garlicy it just depends on your preferences)

a small handful of fresh parsley (I have also used a tbsp of dried when I haven’t had any fresh)

a small handful of fresh coriander

cracked black pepper

~blend (or use a hand mixer, like I do) all the ingredients together, and you’ve got one mighty fine dip.

All I did to make the chip was break up some frozen pita breads, spray with some cooking spray and sprinkle liberally with Moroccan spices, salt and pepper.  Bake those in a moderate oven for about 5-10 minutes or until they are crispy and yum!

Do slather dip onto them and eat them together (it’s the rules).

Today’s bread: My usual loaf which I bake every second day or so.  Some days I make better loaves than others…  People keep asking me when I find the time to bake bread, but it’s really not that labour intensive.  If I know that I am going to be home for a few hours, then I know I can bake bread.  Having said that, we will have to wait and see if my attitude will be this cavalier once I actually have a job…


