A very auspicious award

I have noticed this “stylish blog award” making its way around many a blog lately and now it has made its way to me (Cheers Hakea!).

Normally I don’t answer chain letters…but this one seems ok and doesn’t threaten to give me bad luck for the rest of my life or kill off my family members, and after all…..it is refered to as an award!

here goes….

The ‘rules’ are:

1. Disclose some things about myself by answering the questions below.

2. Link back the awarding blog, (click above).

3. Share the love and name of 15 blogs I’m into.

Here we go…

1.  How long have you been married and how many children do you have?

I’m not married, and I don’t have any children.  P and I have been together for 5 years though since we met at Uni, and have lived together for exactly as long.  I’m guessing it is the 5 year mark which makes family members and friends start asking when we will be getting married and supplying the parents with grandkids, and our answer is….not yet….but someday. I’m only 23 so I think there’s still plenty of time…

2.  Name one thing most people don’t know about you?

I see auras and energy around all living things and I tend to be very sensitive to other people’s emotions and thoughts.

Also….I love cheese on fruit toast.  It’s a dutch thing and it’s delicious.


3.  What is your favorite type of cuisine?

I could easily live off sushi, mangos and chocolate, but I’m not fussy and will happily eat most things- as long as there is not too much chilli in it.  Or spinach.  Ick.

4.  What is your most rewarding memory as a Mom?

er…I’m not a mum, but I do work with kids so I’ll go with my most rewarding moment teaching.  The moment that the boy with autism in our class decided to come over and join in mat time of his own volition and got up in front of the group and sang a song with me. I have been blown away by the leaps and bounds he has made since coming to the centre in January and I always enjoy working with him.

5.  At which store could you spend all day alone in?

the Theosophical society bookstore in Melbourne. easily. I could get lost in all those books and spend all day breathing in new agey goodness.

6.  What was the most embarrassing thing you’ve ever done?

good gracious- I’m certain there are many, but because I like to labour under the pretence that I am a person with impeccable social graces lets just smile and say “shhhhhhhh”.

7.  What type of work did you do before you became a Mom?

Was this award intended for blogs about parenting? I’ve worked at various cafes around Tasmania and got myself through uni that way.  I also worked as a volunteer art guide at the Tasmanian Museum and Art gallery on Patricia Piccinini’s exhibition “Evolution”, and now I am a kindergarten teacher/assistant/qualified staff member.  I occupy a strange role in a music based kinder and child care- When  the kindergarten teacher is away I run the holiday program in the kindergarten, but when she’s back I am essentially her assistant (although I have also been referred to as assistant kindergarten teacher) so…I think I might be whatever I am required to be at any given point in time. I’m learning an awful lot as I go along, and I think that is what is important…

8.  What do you consider a perfect day?

It would involve art, nature and good food.  I love going on mystery drives and adventures to see where I end up and stopping at funny little cafes and art galleries along the way.  some of the most beautiful places happen upon us unexpectedly.

9.  Have you ever done anything spontaneous?

yes- sometimes I like lists and planning, other times I just love going with the flow and seeing where it takes me. Going to Art School was a spontaneous decision. I had a job and a house and a nursing degree all ready for me in a different part of the state, but at the last-minute decided to run off to art school instead. Although art school was incredibly challenging in many ways and I hated nearly every minute of it, I’m glad I turned away from the nursing because now I can see that it would not have been the right path for me, and through a variety of twists and turns I have ended up somewhere I never would have expected but where I feel I a meant to be.

10.  What is your favorite guilty pleasure?

That would have to be shows like “ghost hunters”. I am fascinated with the paranormal and can’t help but love those shows (despite how much P laughs at me and my insatiable appetite for EVPs).

11.  If you could meet anyone famous, who would it be?

I’m not really interested in celebrity culture, so I will go ahead and say two of my favourite ladies- Virginia Woolf and Frida Kahlo, because for all their seriousness I have a sneaking suspicion that they would have a wicked sence of humour if I could spend an evening with them and a few bottles of wine.

12.  What was your biggest fashion blunder?

well…cargo pants and bonds t-shirts together. But then, I was 12 and thought I looked tough (clearly my mother was too nice to tell me that military clothing on a rather rotund 12-year-old does not a fashionista make).

13.  If you could make one wish, what would it be?

that all the nastiness in the world would just go away and we could all get on with this business of evolving.

14.  What are you most proud of ?

I’m proud of having a Fine Arts degree and an Early Childhood graduate diploma because uni has never been easy for me and the moment I get a whiff of university and deadlines I have a tendency to get sick.  All the time.  I got through my undergrad with a year-long bout of tonsilitis; pneumonia and some glandular fever thrown in.  I worked the whole time and never failed a subject, so I can’t help but feel a little proud of myself that I got through that.

On the odd occasion I will be proud of a pice of art I’ve created- but that doesn’t happen too often because I am never completely happy with my art.

Now for the 15 Blogs that I shortlisted for The Stylish Blog Award


Taking Tea with Lady Luff

The Modern Fabulous

bigBANG studio

kootoyoo

Smitten Kitchen

I Love Saturdays

Hakea

Schooling from the heart

Sticks and Scones

We Can

Pip Stafford

I am an age old tree. I am stars in white snow

A Temporary Dive

Oh My Cavalier

much love! xo


