Five Senses Sunday

It’s been a while since I used the “five senses” format for a blog post, but after avoiding writing  simply because I could not order my thoughts coherently, I think it might be time to give myself a little nudge and fill in the gaps.

So, without further ado, this week I have been………..

Seeing:

about 50 new children’s faces, around 100 new “family of children’ faces and 6 new work mate faces.  This adds up to around 156 people I have met and names I have learnt. I think I may have remembered about 40 at the most. Thankfully, all the people behind these faces have been extremely understanding and welcoming, so I know I will get there in the end.

I have also been seeing a lot of beauty in the natural and neutral way the kinder has been designed.  Allow me to paint a picture for you-  all the walls are cream and brown coloured with leaf motifs swirling around the edges. All the furniture is wooden and well-loved, ditto for the toys as the only plastic toys are lego and some animal figurines. The outside has been brought inside in the form of pot plants, tree stumps and branches placed around the floor in play spaces, and pine cones, gumnuts and rocks grace every table. Rose quartz crystals are placed throughout the centre next to miniature water fountains and sticks of incense burning away all day long. The children’s artwork is thoughtfully presented on the walls in a way which avoids the visual bombardment that often occurs in kindergartens and childcare. Being a visual person, I deeply appreciate a space which has been so well thought out and exudes peace and natural beauty- what a difference it has made to my general wellbeing throughout the day, as I have not once felt stressed or claustrophobic.

 

Hearing:

calming meditation music played softly throughout the kinder all day, accompanied by the busy chatter of 20 happy three-year olds. Also, the elated buzz in my head which goes something like this…” yay! yay yay yay yay yay yay yayayayayayayayayayayayyayay!!!!!!”

 

Smelling:

As mentioned above, incense burning all day.  This does add to the atmosphere but also has the practical use of covering up the smells made by 30 three-year olds in one heated room after lunch time (just saying…it can get a wee bit whiffy).

 

Tasting:

the best pineapple I have ever tasted!!!  I am going to have to do some investigating to find the place which supplies such incredible pineapple- in Winter.  Sorry kids for tucking into your morning tea- but that pineapple is just so darn tasty!

 

Feeling:

like my feet haven’t quiet touched the ground yet.  I still can’t believe the series of very small, unimportant events which occurred, contributing directly to me getting this job. I feel very much that I am exactly where I need to be, and having landed in a place which runs congruent with my own philosophies of teaching and child development. I am certain that now I will be able to grow as a teacher and become what I have felt was there, but never had the opportunity to show.

 

So, my week revolved entirely around the first week of work and the mini journey that has been.  What have you been smelling, tasting, hearing, seeing and feeling lately?

