cup of tea?

Howdy!

isn’t it amazing how much can change in four short weeks? Four weeks ago I quit my job and began working as a relief teacher/anything the agency really wanted to make me (read…. 2 year old childcare assistant.  blegh.)  I went through a roller coaster of thoughts that oscillated between “oh my god. what have I done.  Why did I quit my job? Now we shall be poor foreveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer!” to the very zen “all.  will. be. well.” . Well, I’m happy to say that I have found another job (phew!) and I’m pretty excited about it. It is as a kinder teacher in a childcare centre. Yes, I know that in previous posts I have expressed my dislike for childcare and how lovely sessional kinder is, but alas, there appears to be no way of getting full time work in sessional kinder. So, back into the wilds of childcare I go, this time perhaps not so naive. And actually, I truly am excited.

But before continuing on with my stellar early childhood career, I am off to Adelaide tomorrow, where I shall be meeting my father-in-law Andrew Dwyer, and joining his expedition from Adelaide to Alice Springs going through Pitjantjatjara lands. I have never been further than Adelaide, so this will be a whole new experience for me, and I’m hoping that it will full of inspiration for drawing and photography, and (gasp!) maybe even painting.  maybe.

This will not be a luxury holiday, as I will be a camp hand for Andrew, helping out wherever I’m told to go. I am going because I have always had a deep longing to go and see more of Australia, and this may be my one chance to go on his trips, which I have been wanting to do for the whole time I’ve known P. Life seems to have serendipitously slotted itself around this trip for me, so I tend to think that the universe is giving me a cosmic kick up the bum and telling me to just get on with it.

I know it’s not everyone’s thing, but the idea of being out in the open with no one around, sleeping on the ground under the stars and having fresh air in my lungs makes me tingly all over. Even just the thought of it makes me feel like suddenly my lungs are bigger, that my head is quieter, and that my heart beats steadier.

Have any of you been out that way before? What can I expect? As a girl from Tasmania, Alice Springs seems like it would be a whole other world…


